How It Works

In the Test Cricket League, each Test series is given its own series trophy (other than those series for which a trophy already exists, such as the Ashes or Frank Worrell Trophy). The Test nations are then simply ranked according to how many series trophies each team has in its possession.

Where a series yields a positive result, only the most recent series result between the two nations is utilised for the rankings. Only in the event of a draw are previous results considered.  So if New Zealand beat South Africa over a series, New Zealand become the holders and this is the only result between the two nations that is used to calculate the standings.  However, if New Zealand and South Africa draw then the holder coming into the series retains the title and it is this that is carried over into the standings.

As in the Ashes, teams should enter a Test series hoping either to defend the series trophy or to regain it.  Crucially, the eventual outcome is then directly translated into the overall standings, which should strengthen the sense that teams are actually playing for something tangible.

Ties in the standings are firstly decided by the number of Test series won outright, then by the number of Test series drawn (whether or not the series trophy was retained).  If the tied countries still cannot be split then their respective Match Win/Loss Difference is used.

The method of deciding ties is intended to provide an incentive for teams always to aim for a series win rather than settle for a draw, and to strive to win series by as large a margin as possible.

The Aim >

< The Idea