Aussies Comfortably Retain Warne-Murali Trophy

Australia 3-0 Sri Lanka – 3 Tests – Australia retain the Warne-Muralitharan Trophy

With Australian captain Michael Clarke continuing his glorious run of form and Sri Lanka’s batsmen failing to cope with unfavourable conditions, the result of this series was never seriously in doubt.  Clarke added two fifties and a century to his recent haul of impressive scores, whilst David Warner and Matthew Wade also weighed in with important runs.

The Sri Lankans topped 300 just once in the series as they failed to deal with the pace and bounce generated by the Baggy Greens’ seamers.  The travails of the tourist could not have been made more manifest than in the 2nd Test.  Kumar Sangakkara and Prasanna Jayawardene both suffered fractured digits while at bat, a situation compounded by Chanaka Welegedara’s hamstring injury.  The trio’s absence from the second innings batting order left Australia needing only seven wickets to secure an easy innings victory.

Australia remain third in the League, with Sri Lanka not looking out of place in sixth position.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s